The Law of Attraction

That which is like unto itself is drawn.

– Jerry and Esther Hicks

Are you familiar with The Law of attraction? “The Secret” and “What the Bleep Do We Know” are among some of my favorite books/movies. If you haven’t seen or read these, I highly recommend them. In them we learn that beliefs about who you are and what is real are a direct cause of your thoughts and of your own realities. If you are continuously beating yourself up and devaluing yourself you are creating this lower level of yourself, creating misery within yourself and it will show. If, on the other hand you are continuously showing gratitude for the body you have, the mind you were blessed with, your beautiful heart and soul and filling your thoughts with words of love and affirmation, and valuing yourself down to a molecular level you are creating a much richer, beautiful version of yourself on the highest level. You will have an inner glow that will be noticable to others. It is also directly related to situations, circumstances and physical or material things in our lives. We create the world around us through our own thoughts and our thoughts attract like things or circumstances into our lives whether they are positive or negative. In The Secret it claims that if we show gratitude for that which we have, ask the universe for the things that we desire and believe as well as visualize that they are already ours we will receive them. 

Taking it to religion, in the scriptures it states:

What things soever ye desire, when ye pray, believe that ye receive them, and ye shall have them.

– Mark 11:24

Even God wants us to taste of all that is beautiful in this world. We simply have to ask and have faith.

So knowing all of this, why is it that I keep attracting negative crap?  …A low income, for one?

I attract to my life whatever I give my attention, energy and focus to, whether positive or negative.

– Michael Losier

Is it that I focus my energy and thoughts on my struggles and hardships rather than visualizing wealth and prosperity… therefore bringing upon myself more of the same negative circumstances since that is where my energy lies? 

See the things that you want as already yours. Know that they will come to you at need. Then let them come. Don’t fret and worry about them. Don’t think about your lack of them. Think of them as yours, as belonging to you, as already in your possession.
– Robert Collier

Why is it also that I keep attracting the wrong type of men? I have been in an abusive relationship, been beaten, guns held to my head and my life threatened. I’ve been cheated on, lied to and manipulated. I’ve been treated as if I am an irresponsible child, demeaned and belittled. I have also gone to the complete other side of the spectrum and have dated men who needed a mommy. These relationships bring out the worst in me… a side of me I don’t even like to see myself. How do I attract these men into my life? I certainly would not come out and say I desire these things. Have I failed to put these experiences behind me and on a subconscious level reliving them therefore attracting more of the same? ( on a side not: I’m not saying I haven’t dated ANY “normal” guys. There’s been a couple of them scattered in there. I have learned lessons through them all, however. I don’t take crap from anyone anymore. 💪 If a man shows any signs of any of these things I drop them like a hot potato. Does this present an entirely different problem though? It allows me to be more selective but I’m able to give up at the first sign of trouble and I’m not willing to put in the amount of work it takes for any relationship to survive and flourish. An obvious need for an entirely different blog in itself.) Maybe this is a sign that I’m just not there yet. I’m not ready to date again… yet. I need to consiously let go of my past and only take away the lessons learned. I’m still trying to find that balance and trying to figure out exactly what I want before I can visualize it into existence.

I can be changed by what happened to me, but I refuse to be reduced by it.
– Maya Angelou

Maybe I attract negative things into my life simply because changing your thought patterns is easier said than done. Its a learning process and I am human. We fail, we get up and brush ourselves off and we try again. It can be done but it will take work, dedication and a lot of brushing that dirt off our butts… just like anything worth having.

All things are difficult before they are easy.

– Thomas Fuller

Learning is a gift. Even when pain is your teacher.
– Maya Watson

I truly believe this life is about learning and progressing as well as love and charity. We must always be humble, kind and generous, continue to grow, keep our thoughts positive, search out that which is good and worthy and pour our positive energy into every aspect of our lives. Most importantly L❤VE ourselves. If we do these things we will attract and draw in all that is positive and good in this world.

What you radiate outward in your thoughts, feelings, mental pictures and words, you attract into your life.
– Catherine Ponder

Sources: Thelawofattraction.com and Wikipedia.org

Leave a Reply

